New Feature: Add Contacts to Projects

Posted


Back in December we released our Contacts feature: a way of keeping reference details for Contacts without having to create a full TeamworkPM account for them.  The release was well received but you told us you needed more – and as always we’ve listened.

This month we are pleased to announce the ability to link Contacts directly to Projects.

First, we updated the side bar user cards with new icons to highlight Administrators and Project Administrators. Then if you have sufficient permissions, you’ll be able to click on the photo and go to the full profile in the People section. And finally, you can choose who gets to see contact details on a project by project basis by setting the appropriate permission in the Project Settings tab:

New user cards (detailed view)

New user cards (detailed view)

New user cards

New user cards

We’ve made the project’s People page consistent with the main People section, bringing over all of the recently added functionality such as quick edit, View & filtering. You’ll also note the orange key icon: this indicates a Project Administrator in contrast to the green Site Administrator icon.

You can see a new on/off button to grant or remove access to project, a button to edit project permission and new icons summarising each user’s permissions:

New People in the project page

New People in the project page

 

New buttons and icons

New buttons and icons

 

New permissions icons

New permissions icons

Click on the Settings cog to quickly edit permissions or set a User as a Project Administrator:

Edit project permissions

Edit project permissions

You will notice a new permission Can edit all tasks. This is a new feature we just introduced and you can read more about this addition here .

We’ve also made it easier to add new people. Click the Add Person button while selecting project members.  This lets you set up a new user or contact as normal and chose which projects they should be added to.

Add more people to Project

Add more people to Project

Adding a new person

Adding a new person

Should you decide at some point to upgrade a Contact to a user Account (option available in the user profile), they will be immediately assigned to any project to which their contact details were previously linked:

Upgrade a contact to user account

Upgrade a contact to user account

You can read more about People, Companies & Permissions in our related FAQ.

We hope you like this new feature and as always let us know your thoughts and comments here or on our Facebook or Twitter pages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>