Over the years, one of the most requested features has been the ability to mark a message and its attached files as private – visible only to a select group of people.  This becomes especially important as more third party companies are added to a project.  We would have loved this ourselves when working on client projects back in the day!
We call it Lockdown and with today’s update this feature is now available in all of your projects.
It doesn’t end there though. While we were at it, we gave the interface a makeover as well. We removed the clutter and brought the most important information within easy reach.  To see what we mean, take a look at the first screenshot below.  It’s taken from the old tabbed interface which hid away some key properties.  Now look at the second screenshot, notice how Privacy and Notify are both fully visible and instantly available.
Lockdown on Files and Messages
Lockdown on Files and Messages
It’s with this new interface that Lockdown feature really shines. Take a look at the trio of screenshots below.  The first is of our old way of doing things: you only had the option to make a message either public or private within the owner company. The second and third screenshot show the new Lockdown feature: you can choose exactly who is allowed to view the message, regardless of what company they belong to.
Lockdown on Files and Messages
Lockdown on Files and Messages
Lockdown on Files and Messages
 
Notify, too, works exactly as you’d expect – it won’t allow you to notify people who shouldn’t see the message.
 
Lockdown on Files and Messages
Don’t worry, once you’ve published the message you can always double check exactly who has permission to see it – simply hover over the lock icon.
 
Lockdown on Files and Messages
Lockdown on Files and Messages
As always we really hope you love this update and if you have any questions or feedback please let us know.